Spoiler-Free ARC Review: Lake Silence (The Others #6) by Anne Bishop

March 28, 2018 Book Reviews 0 ★★★½

I received this book for free from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Spoiler-Free ARC Review: Lake Silence (The Others #6) by Anne BishopLake Silence (The Others, #6) by Anne Bishop
Series: The Others #6
Also in this series: Written In Red, Vision In Silver
Published by Ace on March 6th 2018
Genres: Urban Fantasy, Fantasy & Magic, Fiction, Mystery & Detective, Paranormal
Pages: 416
Format: Audio ARC
Buy on Amazon

In this thrilling and suspenseful fantasy, set in the world of the New York Times bestselling Others series, Vicki DeVine and her lodger, the shapeshifter Aggie Crowe, stumble onto a dead body . . . and find themselves enmeshed in danger and dark secrets.

Human laws do not apply in the territory controlled by the Others–vampires, shapeshifters, and paranormal beings even more deadly. And this is a fact that humans should never, ever forget . . .

After her divorce, Vicki DeVine took over a rustic resort near Lake Silence, in a human town that is not human controlled. Towns like Vicki’s have no distance from the Others, the dominant predators that rule most of the land and all of the water throughout the world. And when a place has no boundaries, you never really know what’s out there watching you.

Vicki was hoping to find a new career and a new life. But when her lodger, Aggie Crowe–one of the shapeshifting Others–discovers a dead body, Vicki finds trouble instead. The detectives want to pin the man’s death on her, despite the evidence that nothing human could have killed the victim. As Vicki and her friends search for answers, things get dangerous–and it’ll take everything they have to stay alive.

You would think these books would be perfect for me. I want to like them so bad, and I think I have finally figured out part of why they don’t do it for me. The writing seems very child-like. That doesn’t mean that the stories are kid-appropriate, they are not, just that none of the characters are complex. They are either good or bad, with no middle ground. It is a simplistic view of the world and it just doesn’t do it for me. I think I will stop this series here, since this isn’t the kind of thing that typically changes over the course of connected books.

I don’t have anything else to say really, I do like the world Bishop created here, and think it is wonderful and unique, I just can’t get past the writing style. Just not for me. However a lot of other people really love these books, so read the blurb and see if it sounds good to you. Give it a shot and come back here and let me know what you thought!


About Anne Bishop

Anne Bishop lives in upstate New York where she enjoys gardening, music, and writing dark, romantic stories. She is the author of seventeen novels, including the award-winning Black Jewels Trilogy. Her most recent novel is Murder of Crows, the second book in Anne’s urban fantasy series set in a re-imagined Earth. She is currently working on the third book about the Others. Since you’re reading this, there’s no point in telling you to visit her website at www.annebishop.com.

Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,496 other subscribers

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.